Community Health Plan

Every five years, stakeholders from across Douglas County are convened to develop a five-year Community Health Plan. The first step of the process is to assemble extensive health data (culminating in the publication of a Community Health Assessment) that can be used to guide decisions made in the planning process.

The planning process is guided by a Steering Committee with representation from Douglas County and the county’s four municipalities — Baldwin City, Eudora, Lawrence and Lecompton. Nearly 30 people serve on the Steering Committee, representing: government, nonprofit, education, faith-based and business organizations. Coordination is provided by the Lawrence-Douglas County Health Department and the University of Kansas Center for Community Health and Development, who oversee a multi-agency staff team that provides logistical support to the process.

The 2017 Community Health Assessment Report is completed and was public released on Aug. 16.

The documents below were assembled during the assessment processes and are considered appendices of the Community Health Assessment Report.

  • Douglas County Health Data Report — A summary of key health data that was assembled from an array of local, state and national sources.
  • Douglas County Health Issues Survey Report — Results from a survey completed by more than 2,000 Douglas County residents in fall 2016.
  • Local Public Health System Assessment — A report based on a self-assessment by more than 50 community leaders examining the strengths and weaknesses of the local public health system.
  • Organizational Assessment Report — A report summarizing findings of a survey completed by 45 local organizations and businesses describing their population health initiatives.
  • PhotoVoice Project — Van Go Mobile Arts Inc. and the Lawrence-Douglas County Health Department partnered for a photography project that explored how health issues are experienced in Lawrence.
  1. Current Planning Process
  2. 2013-18 Community Health Plan


  • Summer 2016 — Listening sessions were held in Lawrence, Eudora, Baldwin City and Lecompton.
  • Sept. 1, 2016 — The Steering Committee met to review and approve the Community Health Assessment process.
  • Fall/Winter 2016 — Data was collected through a Health Issues Survey, existing health data and a local public health systems assessment.
  • Winter 2016/Spring 2017 — The Steering Committee conducted a detailed examination of root causes contributing to the issues identified during data collection and analysis.
  • Summer 2017 — The Steering Committee hosted five Community Health Forums.
  • August 2017 — The Steering Committee approved the Community Health Assessment.
  • October 2017 — The Steering Committee agreed the principle areas of focus for the next plan would be: access to healthy food an physical activity, behavioral health, safe and affordable housing, and poverty and good-paying jobs. Discrimination and equity will be the plan's overarching themes.
  • November/December 2017 — Work groups will be identified and convened around the focus areas.
  • Spring 2018 — Work groups will develop specific elements of the plan.
  • Summer 2018 — Plan will be approved by Steering Committee.
  • Summer 2018 — Plan will be presented to and approved by Douglas County jurisdictions represented in the planning process.

Steering Committee Members

  • Lori Alvarado, DCCCA
  • Kelly Battese, Haskell Indian Health Center
  • Chip Blaser, Douglas County Community Foundation
  • Julie Branstrom, Douglas County Dental Clinic
  • Hugh Carter, Lawrence Chamber of Commerce
  • Vicki Collie-Akers, KU Center for Community Health and Development
  • Christi Darnell, Baldwin City Council
  • Janice Early, Lawrence Memorial Hospital
  • Margaret Harris, Douglas County resident
  • Marvin Hunt, The Dwayne Peaslee Technical Training Center
  • Sandy Jacquot, Lecompton mayor
  • Russ Johnson, Lawrence Memorial Hospital
  • Susan Johnson, K-State Research and Extension — Douglas County
  • Lisa Larsen, Lawrence City Commission
  • Beth Llewellyn, Health Care Access
  • George McCrary, Baldwin City Athletic Club
  • Shannon Oury, Lawrence-Douglas County Housing Authority
  • Dan Partridge, Lawrence-Douglas County Health Department
  • Pat Roach Smith, Bert Nash Community Mental Health Center
  • Patrick Schmitz, Bert Nash Community Mental Health Center
  • Julie Sergeant, Lecompton resident
  • Bill Schulteis, Lawrence business owner
  • Jon Stewart, Heartland Community Health Center
  • Nathan Stoermer, City of Eudora
  • Jannette Taylor, United Way of Douglas County
  • Verdell Taylor, Saint Luke’s AME Church
  • Nancy Thellman, Douglas County Commissioner
  • Amy Warren, Bert Nash Community Mental Health Center
  • Nikki White, LiveWell Lawrence

Multi-agency Staff Support Team

  • Ann Marie Boncella, Lawrence Memorial Hospital
  • Karrey Britt, Lawrence-Douglas County Health Department
  • Charlie Bryan, Lawrence-Douglas County Health Department
  • Jeff Crick, City of Lawrence/Douglas County
  • Colleen Hill, Lawrence-Douglas County Health Department
  • Jill Jolicoeur, Douglas County
  • Vince Romero, Lawrence-Douglas County Health Department
  • Helen Schnoes, Douglas County
  • Chris Tilden, Lawrence-Douglas County Health Department
  • Dee Vernberg, Lawrence-Douglas County Health Department